Events

Friday August 16, 2019, 9 am – 1 pm – Pop-Up Bookshop, Pemetic Green, Southwest Harbor

Thursday August 22, 2019

Tuesday October 8, 2019 – Wednesday October 9, 2019 – Russ Cox

Children at Charlotte Elementary School will venture to Jupiter and beyond with author/ illustrator Russ Cox! After learning about Russ’ career, they will participate in hands-on illustration workshops. Younger students will enjoy story time and illustration workshops, while older students will practice some of Russ’ techniques for creating crazy characters.

Monday, October 8: Charlotte Elementary School

Tuesday, October 9: Pembroke Elementary School

Wednesday October 16, 2019 – Look Up! with Annette LeBlanc Cate, Whiting Village School

Author/illustrator and birder Annette LeBlanc Cate will take students from Whiting Village School on a trek through Acadia National Park at the Schoodic Institute to observe birds in their natural habitat. Then, she will guide them in an illustration workshop to recreate what they observed in the field.

Thursday October 17, 2019 – Look Up! with Annette LeBlanc Cate, Milbridge Elementary School

Milbridge students will work with author/ illustrator and birder Annette LeBlanc Cate through a program with her book “Look Up! Bird-watching in Your Own Back-yard.”

 

Monday October 21, 2019 – Tuesday October 22, 2019 – Anica Mrose Rissi

Author Anica Mrose Rissi will bring her fun and vibrant personality along with her books “The Teacher’s Pet” and “Anna, Banana and the Friendship Split,” to kids in grades Pre-K to 4. Kids will enjoy read alouds and a writing workshop.

Monday, October 21: Edmunds Consolidated School

Tuesday, October 22: Princeton Elementary School

 

 

Friday October 25, 2019 – MDI 7th Grade Read, Camp Beech Cliff

All seventh graders from each MDIRSS school (Ashley Bryan School on Islesford, Conners Emerson in Bar Harbor, Frenchboro Elementary, Mount Desert Elementary, Pemetic Elementary, Swan’s Island Elementary, Tremont Consolidated School, Trenton Elementary) will converge at Camp Beech Cliff for a day of activities related to Gary Schmidt’s book, “Trouble.” Following hands-on activities and book-related discussions, Gary will present on his career and answer questions about his novel.

Monday October 28, 2019 – Tuesday October 29, 2019 – Cynthia Lord

Author Cynthia Lord’s stories will take the littlest readers on a hamster race in “Hot Rod Hamster”; into a group of animal rescuers in “Shelter Pet Squad” and to a Blueberry Queen pageant in “A Handful of Stars.”

Monday, October 28: Woodland Elementary School

Tuesday, October 29: Indian Township Elementary School

Tuesday November 12, 2019 – Thursday November 14, 2019 – Ben Bishop

Illustrator Ben Bishop will take kids through his creation process in art workshops with a very special message: never give up!

Tuesday, November 12: Islesboro Central School

Wednesday, November 13: Vinalhaven School

Thursday, November 14: North Haven Community School

Monday November 18, 2019 – Wednesday November 20, 2019 – Elizabeth Atkinson

Middle-grade students will work with author Elizabeth Atkinson around her touching novel set in Maine, “The Island of Beyond.”

Monday, November 18: Beals Elementary School

Tuesday, November 19: Jonesport Elementary School

Wednesday, November 20: Deer Isle-Stonington Elementary School